Wk 2 – Activity – Painting

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset IMG_5373 IMG_5374 IMG_5377 Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

So I’m a little late on last week’s painting project… Getting spray paints were a struggle for me, but my good friend lent me his last minute.

I’ve never done spray painting before–I never imagined how fast the paint would come out either. Before beginning this activity, I watched videos on YouTube of graffiti lettering and tried out a bunch of different styles, and even incorporated some things of my own. Turns out graffiti writing is not as easy as I thought it would be, so I stuck with a simpler bubble letter style. I had my finalized sketch done and was ready to start it. I couldn’t find a large enough piece of cardboard so I found a shoebox and ripped it apart. Since the cardboard was so small, freely spray painting my name in bubble letters onto the cardboard definitely wasn’t going to be easy. Because of this, I thought of stenciling. I went through the process of cutting out my name from a white piece of paper and then again, for the black outlining on a different paper. I would say that was the most tedious part of this whole process since all I were a pair of scissors and white printing paper.

Once I had my “stencils” done and ready, I simply sprayed it in layers. First I used a white primer that my friend told me to apply first, then I proceeded with the blue spray and then the black. It took me no longer than 30 minutes and my name was complete.

I learned from this that spray painting is actually pretty fun, and it’s definitely something I would try again.

Leave a Reply

