Wk 6 – Activity – Yarn Bombing

This week’s activity, yarn bombing, was so different to me. As a person who is used to creating things with pen and paper, this was definitely something unique to me. I have never heard of yarn bombing before, so I thought it was pretty cool that there was an alternative to graffiti (paint bombing?). I wouldn’t say it was difficult, however, because back then I used to live with my grandma and she taught me how to knit. So some of those skills still stuck with me, making it a lot easier to understand! It’s basically easy to make anything with yarn as long as you know where and how to loop the yarn. For this project, since I didn’t really know how to crochet or knit very well, I stuck with no-knit activities and just played with yarn. I looked up tutorials of no-knit things I could make with yarn and so, I created 3 little pompom beanies and placed them on all my suitemates’ door handles:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

My yarn bombing experience definitely does not compare with my graffiti writing experience. In my opinion, I liked my graffiti writing experience a lot more than the yarn bombing. Maybe it’s because I personally prefer 2-D art over 3-D art, but I still thought they were both equally fun to try.

One clear difference between yarn bombing and graffiti writing was the fact that one is 2-D and the other is 3-D. They are both different styles of expressing art, but they both kind of portray the same message or serve the same purpose. People would often thing graffiti to be masculine and yarn bombing to be feminine, only because mostly males do graffiti writing, while mostly females associate themselves with yarn. However, it could go both ways. Also, in my opinion, yarn bombing does seem gentler only because it’s not as permanent as graffiti writing. Also, since females more often associate themselves with yarn, I would immediately assume it to be gentler.

All in all, this week was a really unique project to me and it did make me question the masculinity/femininity of certain art styles.

One thought on “Wk 6 – Activity – Yarn Bombing

Leave a Reply

