Wk 8 – Activity – Remix Culture

For this week’s activity, I was unsure of what to do. Remix seemed like such a broad topic–it’s like when you have a closet full of clothes but still have nothing to wear. I had all these possible projects I could do but I didn’t know what to do. So finally, I decided on doing something simpler–altering an image.

I previously had an upcoming event where I had to make this, so I decided that it could also tie into our remix culture activity because I was basically “remixing” someone else’s drawing.

29025-donald-duck-kids-cartoon_1920x1080-1-1

IMG_5501

Basically what I did for this remix project was go on photoshop and cut out the faces of my friends and I, and replaced the duck’s faces. I also had to add a few ducks (which you can tell) since there were more of us. After that, I gray scaled the entire image as well as cropped it. I would say most of the challenges were in the added ducklings, since that led to more modifications and constant erasing and re-drawing.

Although I didn’t do anything extravagant or remix a song, this activity did make me realize how easy it is that people can get their works stolen over the internet. We have so much freedom online  It’s as simple as copy, paste, and publish. So in my opinion, I think copyright is working just as it should. From previous experiences, I noticed that copyright focuses a lot on the media: music, movies, etc, especially on YouTube. It is highly beneficial in protecting ones’ work, especially in today’s generation of free expression and social media.

Leave a Reply

