Wk 10 – Activity – Student Choice

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

This week’s art activity was our student choice. There were a million possible art projects I could have tried, but I decided to keep it old school and do something with pen and paper–something I do best at. For some time now, a friend of mine had been begging for me to draw a geisha for him. Since it was spring break and I had extra time on my hands, I decided to start on it. Why not also tie it into my art activity this week?

This was my first time drawing such intricate details into anything I’ve drawn, so it took a lot of time and patience to draw the lines and details in the flower piece on her hair. But overall, i would say it took a total of 4 hours to complete. After I got to that point of the drawing in the first image, I would say I had artist’s block for a long time because I was so unsure of what else I would draw. Originally starting out, I had no idea what else to draw besides the geisha, so a lot of this drawing ended up being my doodling and testing (especially the water and the design of her kimono–those were unplanned). In the end, I was highly satisfied with the results.

Leave a Reply

